Call for Papers

Call for Papers ESORICS 2013

Congratulations to all authors of accepted papers listed here.      

PDF Version TXT Version

ESORICS (European Symposium on Research in Computer Security) is the premier European research conference in computer security.  ESORICS started in 1990 and has been held in several European countries, attracting an international audience from both the academic and industrial communities. ESORICS 2013, the 18th symposium in the series, will be held in the UK at Royal Holloway, University of London.

Papers offering novel research contributions in all aspects of computer security are solicited for submission to ESORICS 2013.  The primary focus is on original, high quality, unpublished research, but submissions describing implementation experiences and industrial research and development are also encouraged.  All topics related to security, privacy and trust in computer systems and networks are of interest and in scope.  Papers on applications of cryptography to topics in the scope of the conference are welcome, but papers on theoretical cryptography must be explicit about the relevance of the theory to the security of computer systems and networks.

For the first time at ESORICS, there will be awards for outstanding paper and outstanding student paper.  A student paper is defined to be one in which at least one of the authors is a student who does not have a PhD at the time of submission.  To be considered for the student paper award, the paper must be accompanied by a cover letter signed by all co-authors explicitly attesting to the central role and contributions of the student(s), and the paper must be presented by the student at ESORICS 2013.  The cover letter should be in pdf format and uploaded at at the same time as the paper.

Paper Submission

Authors must adhere to the following guidelines.

  • Submissions must not be anonymised.
  • Submitted papers must not substantially overlap with papers that have been (a) published in a journal or the proceedings of another conference (b) submitted to a journal or (c) submitted to another conference with proceedings.
  • Submitted papers must adhere to the LNCS template and should be at most 16 pages in this format, excluding the bibliography and well-marked appendices.  Submitted papers must be no longer than 20 pages.
  • Committee members are not required to read the appendices, so the paper should be intelligible without them.
  • Submissions must be written in English and must be in pdf format.
  • Papers must be submitted via the EasyChair conference system at

Submissions not meeting these guidelines risk rejection without consideration of their merits.

Accepted papers will be published by Springer in the LNCS series.  Note that authors of accepted papers must guarantee that one of the authors will register and present the paper at the conference.

Important Dates

  • Paper submission due: 31 March 2013  10 April 2013 (23:59 American Samoa time)
  • Notification to authors: 10 June 2013
  • Camera-ready copy due: 21 June 2013

Program Committee

Gail-Joon Ahn Arizona State University
Massimiliano Albanese George Mason University
Claudio Agostino Ardagna Università degli Studi di Milano
Alessandro Armando University of Genova and Fondazione Bruno Kessler
Michael Backes Max Planck Institute for Software Systems
David Basin ETH Zurich
Kevin Bauer MIT Lincoln Laboratory
Lujo Bauer Carnegie Mellon University
Konstantin Beznosov University of British Columbia
Marina Blanton University of Notre Dame
Carlo Blundo Università di Salerno
Kevin Butler University of Oregon
Srdjan Capkun ETH Zurich
Liqun Chen Hewlett-Packard Laboratories
Sherman Chow Chinese University of Hong Kong
Marco Cova University of Birmingham
Jason Crampton (Co-chair) Royal Holloway, University of London
Frédéric Cuppens TELECOM Bretagne
Sabrina De Capitani Di Vimercati Università degli Studi di Milano
Roberto Di Pietro Università di Roma Tre
Claudia Diaz Katholieke Universiteit Leuven
Josep Domingo-Ferrer Rovira i Virgili University
Wenliang Du Syracuse University
Riccardo Focardi Università Ca’ Foscari di Venezia
Simon Foley University College Cork
Sara Foresti Università degli Studi di Milano
Cedric Fournet Microsoft Research
Keith Frikken Miami University
Dieter Gollmann Hamburg University of Technology
Dimitris Gritzalis Athens University of Economics and Business
Gerhard Hancke Royal Holloway, University of London
Amir Herzberg Bar Ilan University
Michael Huth Imperial College London
Sushil Jajodia (Co-chair) George Mason University
Aaron Johnson Naval Research Laboratory
Jonathan Katz University of Maryland
Stefan Katzenbeisser Technische Universität Darmstadt
Engin Kirda Northeastern University
Markulf Kohlweiss Microsoft Research Cambridge
Steve Kremer INRIA Nancy – Grand Est
Miroslaw Kutylowski Wroclaw University of Technology
Adam J. Lee University of Pittsburgh
Wenke Lee Georgia Institute of Technology
Yingjiu Li Singapore Management University
Benoit Libert Technicolor
Javier Lopez University of Malaga
Wenjing Lou Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Gregory Neven IBM Research, Zurich
Pratyusa K Manadhata Hewlett-Packard Laboratories
Luigi Mancini Universita di Roma La Sapienza
Fabio Martinelli IIT-CNR
Sjouke Mauw University of Luxembourg
Atsuko Miyaji Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology
Stefano Paraboschi Universita di Bergamo
Kenneth Paterson Royal Holloway, University of London
Dusko Pavlovic Royal Holloway, University of London
Günther Pernul Universität Regensburg
Frank Piessens Katholieke Universiteit Leuven
Michalis Polychronakis Columbia University
Alexander Pretschner Technische Universität München
Kui Ren State University of New York at Buffalo
Mark Ryan University of Birmingham
Peter Ryan University of Luxembourg
Andrei Sabelfeld Chalmers University of Technology
Ahmad-Reza Sadeghi Technische Universität Darmstadt
Rei Safavi-Naini University of Calgary
Pierangela Samarati Università degli Studi di Milano
Radu Sion Stony Brook University
Nigel Smart University of Bristol
Einar Snekkenes Gjovik University College
Vipin Swarup The MITRE Corporation
Roberto Tamassia Brown University
Carmela Troncoso Gradiant
Yevgeniy Vahlis University of Toronto
Jaideep Vaidya Rutgers University
Vijay Varadharajan Macquarie University
Venkat Venkatakrishnan University of Illinois at Chicago
Luca Viganò University of Verona
Michael Waidner Fraunhofer SIT
Bogdan Warinschi University of Bristol
Ting Yu North Carolina State University
Moti Yung Columbia University



Scroll to Top